Rockets News

NBA All-Star 2013: Houston Rockets Will be Well Represented


Jan 11, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; Houston Rockets shooting guard James Harden (13) and small forward Chandler Parsons (25) celebrate during the first half of a game against the Boston Celtics at TD Garden. Mandatory Credit: Mark L. Baer-USA TODAY Sports

With the contestants announced for All-Star weekend, 3 Houston Rockets will be participants of the events.  Chandler Parsons, who will appear in the Rising Stars Challenge, will represent Team Shaq.  Here are draft results between Shaquille O’Neal and Charles Barkley:

Jeremy Lin will now compete in the Skills Challenge, along with Damian Lillard and Tony Parker for the West, while Jrue Holiday, Brandon Knight, and Jeff Teague will represent the East.

James Harden will also have a much bigger role than just playing in the All-Star game.  Harden will be a coach for the All-Star celebrity game, while Russell Westbrook will be the opposing coach.  Harden will also be in the Haier Shooting Stars competition, with former Rocket Sam Cassell and WNBA legend Tina Thompson as his teammates.

Here’s a complete list of all the weekend’s participants:

 Slam Dunk Contest:

 James White- New York Knicks

Gerald Green- Indiana Pacers

Terrence Ross- Toronto Raptors

Kenneth Faried- Denver Nuggets

Eric Bledsoe- Los Angeles Clippers

Jeremy Evans- Utah Jazz


3-Point Shootout:

 Steve Novak- New York Knicks

 Paul George- Indiana Pacers

Kyrie Irving- Cleveland Cavaliers

Stephen Curry- Golden State Warriors

Matt Bonner- San Antonio Spurs

Ryan Anderson- New Orleans Hornets


Skills Challenge contestants:

 Jrue HolidayPhiladelphia 76ers

Brandon KnightDetroit Pistons

Jeff TeagueAtlanta Hawks

Damian LillardPortland Trail Blazers

Jeremy LinHouston Rockets

Tony Parker- San Antonio Spurs

Shooting Stars Teams:

Team Bosh: Chris Bosh, Dominique Wilkins, Swin Cash

Team Lopez: Brook Lopez, Muggsy Bogues, Tamika Catchings

Team Harden: James Harden, Sam Cassell, Tina Thompson

Team Westbrook: Russell WestbrookRobert Horry, Maya Moore

The participants were selected by Dwayne Wade and Chris Paul for their respective conferences, as this year marks the first time that the East and West will compete against one another in the events.  The winning team will receive a donation prize of $350,000 from State Farm, while the losing team will get $150,000 from State Farm.