NBA Finals: Back to Back Heat

By Phillip Pyle


Fitting that Miami Heat President Pat Riley coined the phrase back – to – back, because thats just what the Heat did. After what could be the best Finals series under nearly retired Commissioner David Stern, the Heat pulled off a tremondous win 95-88.

The game begin as many of the other six games did, and that was with a close first half. In Game 7 it went down to the very last minutes. LeBron James led the Heat scoring 37 points and grabbing 12 boards avenging his first Finals loss, when his Cleveland Cavaliers were swept by the Spurs in 2007. LeBron James became just the third player to win the regular-season MVP and Finals MVP in the same season multiple times. Only Michael Jordan and Larry Bird have accomplished that. James also tied the record for most points in an NBA Finals Game 7 win. James’ 37 points tied Tom Heinsohn‘s mark.

Dwyane Wade had 23 points and 10 rebounds for the Heat, who overcame a scoreless Chris Bosh, and Ray Allen by getting six 3-pointers and 18 points from Shane Battier.

Only LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Shane Battier, Mario Chalmers, and Chris Anderson scored for the Heat. Five players, 3 starters, and two bench players put up 95 points.

The Heat became the NBA’s first repeat champions since the Lakers in 2009-10, and the first team to beat the San Antonio Spurs in the NBA Finals.

 Kawhi Leonard had 19 points and 16 boards, carrying the Spurs offensively throughout the game. Tim Duncan had 24 points and 12 boards for the Spurs, but missed a shot and follow attempt under the basket with about 50 seconds left and the Spurs trailing by two. With LeBron James guarding Tony Parker he was limited to 10 points on 3-of-12 shooting. Many will also point to Manu Ginobili‘s 4 turnovers and the big three that game late in the 4th quarter.

Miami improved to 5-3 all-time in Game 7s in the postseason and became the fourth team to win the final two games at home since the finals went to a 2-3-2 format in 1985, joining the Lakers in 1988 and 2010, and Houston Rockets in 1994.