NBA: Officials Missed Call On Dwight Howard’s 6th Foul In Game 1

By Michael Ma

Apr 20, 2014; Houston, TX, USA; Houston Rockets center

Dwight Howard

(12) walks onto the court during overtime against the Portland Trail Blazers in game one during the first round of the 2014 NBA Playoffs at Toyota Center. The Trail Blazers won 122-120. Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA announced Monday afternoon that officials were incorrect in calling a 6th foul on Dwight Howard late in the Houston Rockets Game 1 playoff series against the Portland Trail Blazers.

NBA President of Basketball Operations Rod Thorn released the following statement:

“After video review by the league office, we have determined that the officials were incorrect in assessing a foul to the Rockets’ Dwight Howard with 10.8 seconds remaining in overtime. The foul should have been called on the Blazers’ Joel Freeland and Howard should have been awarded two free throws.”

During the play, Freeland held Howard as both players were battling for a rebound. At the time of the call, the Rockets trailed by 1, and would have had a chance to take the lead with Howard going to the free throw line. Instead, Freeland split a pair at the line to put the Blazers up 122-120 before James Harden missed a jumper at the buzzer.

What Will Be The Outcome For The Series?

View Results