What is the Mount Rushmore for the Houston Rockets?

Photo by Nathaniel S. Butler/NBAE via Getty Images
Photo by Nathaniel S. Butler/NBAE via Getty Images
1 of 5
Hakeem Olajuwon
Photo by Nathaniel S. Butler/NBAE via Getty Images, Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets

The Houston Rockets have had many greats pass through the franchise over the years. Which four players should make up the team’s Mount Rushmore?

Way back in 1967, the San Diego Rockets were born. Robert Breitband paid $1.75 million for the franchise to join the NBA as part of the expansion plan for the 1967-68 season. The name “Rockets” was chosen because San Diego was a “city in motion” and due to the local space-age manufacturers.

Similar to most new teams, the Rockets struggled out of the gate. Fortunately, they ended up with the No. 1 pick in the 1968 Draft and they selected Hall of Famer Elvin Hayes. By 1971, the Rockets moved from San Diego to Houston after a change in ownership.

Throughout the years, Houston featured franchise fixtures such as Calvin Murphy, Rudy Tomjanovich, Moses Malone, Hakeem Olajuwon and Clyde Drexler. Furthermore, Yao Ming, Tracy McGrady and James Harden are a few of the franchise’s more recent superstars.

As with any list, many of these worthy superstars won’t make the cut. Only four Rockets players can have their faces carved on the franchise’s Mount Rushmore. Let’s see who’s in and who’s out.

Next: The Dream