Houston Rockets: Ranking the top 10 players in team history

Anthony Duckett
Houston Rockets Hakeem Olajuwon (Credit: Tim Defrisco/ALLSPORT}
Houston Rockets Hakeem Olajuwon (Credit: Tim Defrisco/ALLSPORT} /
11 of 11
Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets
Houston Rockets Hakeem Olajuwon (Photo by Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE via Getty Images) /

1. Hakeem Olajuwon

Hakeem Olajuwon sits unequivocally atop The Rockets’ Mount Rushmore and it’s not even a debate. Olajuwon has delivered both championships in franchise history and is an all-time great in the history of the NBA. Olajuwon ranks 11th all-time in points, 13th in rebounds and first in blocks in NBA history. Olajuwon’s career average of 3.1 blocks per game ranks third all-time in league history.

More from Space City Scoop

Olajuwon made 12 All-Star teams, led the league in blocks in three seasons and led the league in rebounding twice as well. Not only that, the Rockets only missed the playoffs in four of the 17 seasons The Dream was in Houston. Olajuwon led the Rockets to three NBA Finals appearances and was named NBA Finals MVP in both championships.

Olajuwon is the only player in league history to average 14 or more rebounds and 4.5 or more blocked shots in the same season, which he accomplished during the 1989-1990 season. During that season, Olajuwon became only the third player to lead the league in rebounds and blocks in the same year up until that point.

In addition, Olajuwon is the only player in NBA history to win the MVP, the Defensive Player of the Year, the NBA championship and the NBA Finals MVP all in the same season (1993-94).

Olajuwon won the Defensive Player of the Year following the 1992-1993 season and at the conclusion of the 1993-1994 season, making him one of only ten players in league history to win the award multiple times.

Olajuwon has left his mark on the Rockets’ record books, as he ranks first in total rebounds, steals, blocks and points in team history. In addition, he ranks fourth in team history with 22.5 points per game, and first in blocks per game with 3.2 blocks per night. He also ranks second in player efficiency behind only James Harden.

Next. How the Rockets match up against the Lakers

Olajuwon had his jersey retired in 2001 and was inducted in the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008.