Did Stephen Curry violate an unwritten rule against the Rockets?

Golden State Warriors v Houston Rockets
Golden State Warriors v Houston Rockets / Alex Bierens de Haan/GettyImages

We've long heard about unwritten rules in sports, but there's been a heightened emphasis in recent years. This has especially been the case in the NBA, where such things typically don't go unnoticed.

In spite of that, that's exactly what transpired during the most recent duel between the Golden State Warriors and the Houston Rockets. With 34.1 ticks left on the clock and the Warriors winning 118-108, Warriors guard Stephen Curry dialed it up from deep for a three, draining it with 10 seconds remaining on the shot clock.

Curry's shot, a 30-footer, seemingly went unnoticed by the masses, as not a peep could be heard from the basketball world. The shot made the score 121-108, adding more insult to injury, as the game was already decided before the shot.

Did Steph Curry get away with breaking an unwritten rule against the Houston Rockets?

So what's the big deal, you ask? Well, considering the heightened emphasis on sportsmanship and the fact that these things don't go unnoticed these days, it seemed a bit inconsistent with the usual outrage.

Players are typically outspoken about such things after the game, and there have even been skirmishes in-game as a result of such plays. What's become the norm in that situation is for the opposing team to take a shot clock violation, as the game was already decided. Well, unless you think the Rockets were going to come back from double-digits in 30 seconds (if you believe that, I've got property in Idaho to sell you).

One could also ask why Curry was even in the game at that point, especially considering the injury woes the Warriors have been decimated with, both this season and in recent years. Curry is far too important to risk injury, for a group that has had their sights set on making a mad dash in the standings down the stretch, right?

So why risk injury and leave Curry in the game? Was it because Warriors coach Steve Kerr wanted Curry to get 30 points before removing him from the game?

And furthermore, why did Curry fling the 3-ball when the game was already decided? Did he think the Rockets were going to come back?

Regardless of the reasoning, it's safe to say that Curry got away with breaking an unwritten rule during the game.